Services

Route Details

Refresh

COLL and TIREE:

Oban - Coll - Tiree

Be aware

Service updates

Coll Linkspan Closure

CMAL have confirmed that they have discovered issues with the Coll linkspan that requires urgent attention. The linkspan will be closed after the 12.45 sailing on Tuesday 22 January and will reopen for the arrival of the 09.55 service on Saturday 26 January, which will allow the contractor to replace the ropes on one side of the linkspan. It will then close again after the 12.45 sailing on Monday 28 January, and reopening for the arrival of the 10.15 sailing on Thursday 31 January. This will allow the replacement of the remaining ropes.

During these periods of closure we would expect to there will be the normal timetable/service pattern but on certain days it will be a passenger only service. (This will also affect interisland traffic movements.)

Weather may present issues, where normally the vessel could utilise the stern ramp she will not be able to do so a gangway may not be possible.

We would also ask anyone travelling who requires lift access on Tuesday 29th to look at travel on an alternative day as MV Lord of the Isles will be on service and cannot use the regular adapted gangway at Coll.

Tuesday 22nd Jan - Normal vehicle and passenger service - linkspan closes when vessel departs.
Wednesday 23rd Jan - No sailings operate on this day
Thursday 24th Jan - passenger only
Friday 25th Jan - No sailings operate on this day
Saturday 26th Jan - Normal vehicle and passenger service
Sunday 27th Jan - Normal vehicle and passenger service
Monday 28th Jan - Normal vehicle and passenger service - linkspan closes when vessel departs.
Tuesday 29th Jan - Passenger only
Wednesday 30th Jan - No sailings operate on this day
Thursday 31st Jan - Normal vehicle and passenger service. Linkspan fully back in service

The Oban - Tiree service is not affected

More information regarding the works can be found here.

Saturday 26th January

It has been necessary for vessels to be redeployed due to a delay to MV Caledonian Isles' return to service from annual overhaul. As a result the Oban-Coll-Tiree service will operate one hour ahead of schedule as follows:

Depart Oban - 0615
Arrive Coll - 0855
Depart Coll - 0910
Arrive Tiree - 1005
Depart Tiree - 1035
Arrive Coll - 1130
Depart Coll - 1145
Arrive Oban - 1425


Reason: operational

Last Updated: 18 Jan 2019 14:38

Supplementary information

Oban Linkspan 1

Linkspan 1, which is due to be replaced in February 2019, currently has a weight restriction of 8.5t per axle.

All commercial customers will be contacted to discuss options, as this may result in a change of departure time to accommodate the weight.

CalMac Ferries apologises for disruption to service due to the on going issues with Oban linkspans.